top of page
  • Writer's pictureWoodlands Woodstock

Interview with Student Trustee Candidate, Jacob Greene

Joshua Zhuang | April 20th, 2023


Every year, high school students from across Peel vote for two student trustees – one for all schools north of the 401, and one for all schools south – to represent them at the board level. This year’s slate of candidates for our region includes The Woodlands’ very own 10th grader, Jacob Greene. With election day less than three weeks away, I interviewed Jacob with the hopes of giving readers a better understanding of his goals as trustee.


The Woodstock: What motivated you to run? Jacob Greene: The fact that I could run, that the opportunity is there for me. As students, it’s very important that we all have a say and can voice our concerns or ideas with the PDSB. And as someone who likes to be vocal on important issues, I see this as not just as an opportunity for me, but an opportunity for students across Peel to get their voices heard and amplified.


TW: Tell us about your platform and how you will implement it. JG: My first platform can be worked around with cooperation with Brightspace and the monetary budget I am provided with as a student trustee. The second and third can be evaluated through schools and the board themselves, and can all be resolved through the works of resolutions I provide in the Peel District School Board.


TW: Why should students vote for you? JG: I'll start by answering that question by really emphasizing how passionate I am in the pillars I am running under. There are issues in peel which a lot of students have faced for too long, and issues that I will address as a student trustee. This comes from all the platforms I have, such as utilizing Google Classroom over D2L and reforming the school’s course of action with troubled students. These are all issues that I plan to go over, address and fix. I'm sure lots of students can agree with my rhetoric and would understand that casting a vote for me in this upcoming election would be a strong move on their behalf.

Student Trustee Candidate, Jacob Greene

TW: What would your response be to students who may worry you lack experience? JG: I have not had the experience of being a Student Trustee, but similar to [current Student Trustee] Evelyn I have built up my credentials prior to running. From being a leading figure in Toronto Model United Nations to conducting business in other countries like Singapore and Malaysia. For the past few years I have experienced diplomatic work with large crowds first hand. I am giving students the opportunity for a different approach to problems in peel, and different ways we can overcome barriers in our school district.


TW: Violent school incidents have risen sharply in neighboring Toronto. What would you do to prevent violence in our schools and keep our students safe? JG: We need to understand that all violence in school originates from either personal drama or mental distress, and there’s no denying that. With this information, we need to look at what we can do as a board and what I [could] do as a trustee. I firmly believe that our best course of action is to target the roots in the violence that begin the escalation of the problem. Providing more guidance support to those who need it, and more assistance to students going through rough times, whether it be at home, school or anywhere.


TW: What are some of your goals beyond high school? JG: Somewhere in the field of law, or politics. I don't really see myself going into a scientific or mathematical field, although you could argue law and politics include those assets the most!

We thank Jacob for his time, and wish him good luck with his campaign. A friendly reminder that voting will be conducted on D2L on April 19th and 20th.


This interview was edited for the purposes of clarity and conciseness.




57 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page